Potomac River Guide Home

Regional Interactive Maps

Thematic Maps

Search Potomac Sites

Frederick County

Maryland County

County seat is the City of Frederick. The county was named for Frederick Calvert (1731-1771), the sixth and last Lord Baltimore. Principal towns are Emmitsburg, Frederick, and Thurmont. The county extends from the Pennsylvania border at the north to the Potomac River at the south. The western boundary is South Mountain; to the east are Carroll and Montgomery counties.

Click here for larger map and nearby sites.

Contact Information
Frederick County Tourism
19 East Church Street
Frederick MD 21701