Potomac River Guide Home

Regional Interactive Maps

Thematic Maps

Search Potomac Sites

Westmoreland County

Virginia County

Westmoreland County, largest of the five counties in Virginia's Northern Neck, has the unique distinction of being the only county in America with the birthplaces of two Presidents of the United States--George Washington and James Monroe. The county earned the title of "Athens of Virginia" in the years before the Revolution. Several of the mansions of colonial America survive along the banks of the river. In Revolutionary times, an association was formed at Leedstown to resist the enforcement of the Stamp Act. The resolutions opposing the Stamp Act, authored by Richard Henry Lee, were one of the first protests against the Act and helped galvanize public opinion against the British. The county seat of Westmoreland County is Montross.

Click here for larger map and nearby sites.

Contact Information
Westmoreland County Tourism
P.O. Box 1000
Montross VA 22520