Potomac River Guide Home

Interactive Maps

The Lower Potomac

The Potomac Estuary

Mount Vernon to Anacostia River

Mall Area

Georgetown to Great Falls

Potomac Piedmont

Upper Potomac

The North Branch

Boat Ramps

Monitoring Sites

Bridges and Ferries

Cruises and Charters

Search Potomac Sites

Also Explore

The Hudson River GuideThe Delaware River Guide

Montgomery County

Marlyland County

blank dot

One of Maryland's largest and most prosperous counties, Montgomery County stretches from densely populated suburbs at the District of Columbia line to rural agricultural areas near Frederick County. The county was named after Revolutionary War General Richard Montgomery. The county seat is Rockville, and principal towns also include Gaithersburg, Wheaton, and Bethesda. The major highways in the county are the Capital Beltway (I-495) and I-270, which is the main route to Frederick and points west. Interstate 270 parallels Md. Route 355, an historic route west from Washington. Montgomery County is bounded by the Frederick County to the north, the Patuxent River (Howard County), Prince George's County, and the District of Columbia to the east, and the Potomac River to the south and west.

Suggested Links

Click here for larger map and nearby sites.

Contact Information
Convention and Visitor Bureau
12900 Middlebrook Road
Germantown MD 20874